top of page

What do you think of modern Grandmothers?


What do you think of modern Grandmothers?

I’ve become a world authority

on how grandmothers ought to look

because dotty dear old ladies

smile from every picture book.

They’re usually round and cuddly

with grey hair and a hat.

They drink endless cups of milky tea,

always , always have a cat.

They are very good at knitting

and they’ll mind you for the day –

I’m sure picture book grannies are

all very well, but boring in their way.

Now my grandmother hasn’t read

the books- she hasn’t got a clue

about the way she should behave

and the things she mustn’t do.

She always on a diet

and I’m sure she dyes her hair,

and haven’t got a grandpapa so

her boyfriend’s sometimes there.

She wears jazzy shirts and skin-tight

Jeans, jangles bracelets on her arm.

She zooms me around in her little car,

Strapped-in, and safe from harm.

She’s busy lady with a job

and a diary to book me in.

She doesn’t knit and doesn’t drink tea,

Preferring coffee, wine or gin!

My grandmother’s a complete disaster

as ordinary grannies go-

but I wouldn’t want to swap her

or I’d have done it long ago!

Moira Andrew

Ines Majjad My grand-mother ! I prefere moderne grand mother sort. A grand-mother ho want to play with me, I want her to give me gift stay with me,cook with me...But I don’t want a grand-mother ho had a back cat because I’m scared of cat and I really really don’t wan’t a grand mother that don’t love me, who knit every days because this grands-mothers are tiresome and I love play. I want a cool grand-mother (she learn me some new things…) And I also want her to leave in front of my house. I have more thing to explane you about the grand-mother that I prefere

I don't prefere this sort of grand-mother:

Tamara Demachkieh

My sort of Grandmother I prefer is the thoroughly modern one , because the moderns are so cuddly and i love when they wear their hats. My grandmother always let me touch her white cat and sometimes I help her to cook with her a delicious lunch or dinner . When I give her a hug she always gives me a small kiss because she loves me a lot and I love her much more . She travels a lot with us . I sit all the time next to her in the plane . When she visits us in Bahrain , we have a lot of fun with her .

ZAKARIA LARGUI

This is to tell you that I prefer picture book grand-mothers because they love kids and listen to them. I prefer them, too, because they may look after their Grand- children in case parents needed that. They are generally nice, kind, generous and protective. They are people with a smiling face. I also love them because they always bake cakes and cook fries for us .They give us gifts and pieces of advice for our safety and well- being.

EMMA LOUISE

I prefer a picture book grandmother . She has time for me ! Thank you teacher!!

Imane BenMansour

I like the picture book grandmother because I like when she cuddles me . I also prefer her because I love cats and I would love to drink tea and eat biscuits with her. I love her dresses and I would also imagine which hat she is wearing every day.

Tamara chamoun

I like the grandmothers in the stories because, they are round and cuddly so I can stay with her and give her some nice warm hugs. I like there dresses with little dots it makes them cute and we can sometimes come and admire her dresses and help them cook and prepare coffee and tea. They always knit, that’s why I like the stories grandmother

Krystel kossaifi

I prefer the picture book sort of grandmother cause I can go to her house whenever I want .I can hug her , kiss her and cuddle her a lot.

I love going sleep at her house cause we cook delicious cakes and cookies every time and she gives me presents.

I go sleep with my cousins at her place and play all together . In the morning, we wake up early hearing the sheep and the roosters cause she Is living in the mountain.

We eat eggs ,drink milk and talk together at the breakfast.

In the afternoon we go for a walk with my grandmother and at night we Watch TV .That is the kind of grandmother that I like.

Anais Peyre

I prefer mixed style grandmother a bit of old fashion and modern.

I like when she cooks and tells me family stories .

I enjoy when she teach me how to paint and meedle.

I don't like fashion victim grandmother but Ilike when she wears modern clothes.

But anyway, I love my grandmothers as they are: perfect!

Saad

I prefer the picture book grandmother because they cook us what ever we want they

buy us candy chocolate and other stuffs.

They are very nice and we want something and they do it.

AYMAN

I prefer the grandmothers in the pictures because I want her to be cuddly and I like to see her cats and she could also bake for me cakes the modern grandmother will be all ways busy to do that

Zeyad Harraz

I prefer the picture book type grandmother because I like cuddly grand mothers.

Aliyah Idris

I would like a modern grandmother. It will be so original.

She will do exciting things but sometimes she will be busy with her girlfriends.

It will be extraordinary. It will be as if I was with a friend. When she has time, I am sure, she will take me to her boyfriend's house.

Whenever I would want to play with her, it would be ok because she is not wearing a skirt or dress. But she is wearing a pair of jeans or tracksuit. She would be very fit and we could do gymnastic together.

Kayla Raad

I like both picture book grandmothers and modern grandmothers. Picture book grandmothers because they are nice and cuddly and they like cats. And modern grandmothers because they are cool and they have a touch phone they know more about electronics and they go to the mall . But both are very awesome and amazing!

Ryma ElKhadi

I prefer the grandmothers in the pictures book. Because they are cuddly; kind; beautiful; cooks many cakes and food; pay attention to their selves and their kids."

Tareq ALAHMED

I prefer the thoroughly modern grand mama because she is really cool,she likes coffee,she wears colourful clothes.She wears make up,nail polish and jewelries. She drives a car and she has a job. Her hair and her eyes are blue.

Sarah Alahmed

I prefere the picture book sort grand mother because she is drinking tea and she is king ang hugs and kisses.

She is teaching me how to net with all her patience and care.

She is wearing glasses and got a nice black cat.

We always spend good time with family who are around her.

We do so many good things as picnic in a green park in France and we cook together.

I always remember and miss my grandmother who is living in France.

She's the best grandmother ever.

Jood AlJassim

The sort of grandmother I like are the ones on the picture book because I like them when they cuddle me and have tea with me and take care of me and because they have very cute cats and I love playing with them. I also love them when they squeeze my cheeks.

Kerim kehkia

I prefer the picture book grandmother because she is so funny , cudly ,its kind of funny when you see her round stomach and her round glass . And its not that nice to see grandmother with skinny jeans . The other grandmother looks like a boy and her hair looks like the spike of a pineapple .. I like the picture grandmother cause is really cudly.

Tareq ALAHMED

I prefer the thoroughly modern grand mama because she is really cool,she likes coffee,she wears colourful clothes.She wears make up,nail polish and jewelries. She drives a car and she has a job. Her hair and her eyes are blue.

Cassandra Nasr

Choosing between a traditional (picture book) and a fashionable (modern and renegade) Grandmother is like choosing between my two best grandmothers that I cherish a lot.

I have the luxury to get the benefits out of these two extremes and yet complementary characters.

They are both traditional in a sense that they are sensible, kind with me, great cook ( I love their desserts) and full of LOVE. One of my grand mothers even taught me how to knit which is surprisingly a calming and productive hobby. The other one loves her sister's pets and taught me how to take good care of them.

As for the Mama Rock’s part, I love their eagerness to explore the world (like they did with us this summer in France), to do and color their hair, to dress up (jeans, fashionable dress, kickers, …) and to make use of “WhatsApp” on their phones J!

In a Nutshell, I love them BOTH whether

they are Modern or Traditional!! JJJ

MARIA EL KHOURY

I really like both grandmothers, the modern one, and the story book one. I like the modern one because she is cool and different than all the other grandmothers. I like the story grandmother because she is cuddly and cute . She always gives presents, she wears hats and drinks tea not like the modern grandma who drinks coffee, gin and wine. But the only two things I hate about them are that they are nosy and have a cat. I am scared of cats! I prefer dogs. But I love my REAL grandmothers!!!!

MYA MURR

The book grand-mother, is the one I prefer because I can always see her and talk to her she's always available !

I can cudel her all day ,she cooks delicious meels for me ,she has beautiful

glasses every time she puts them on it make me smile ,she has wonderful dresses every day and hats for every weather :big for sunny days ,wool one for snowy cold days ,a small cute flowery one for spring and a warm cotton one for automne .

I love tea,so every day I drink tea and we eat cookies together, I don't really like cats, but I find her's really cute!

In all the house you find pictures of me and my brother!

every day you see her nitting beutiful things!

P.S Among all the grand-mothers in the world, for me, mine is the best!

She is in between moderne and books!!!!!

Omar El-Jamal

The grandma that I like the most is the picture sort of grandma, because she is all very cuddly and nice. These type of grandmas always have a cat and I love cats. They also love to make their grandkids happy with gifts, sweets and a lot of other special things. That's why I love the "traditional" grandma the most.


Featured Posts
Recent Work
Archive
bottom of page